My Changing Social Media Habits

My social media habits have undergone an interesting change in the past few weeks. I’ve only been on Facebook a year, and while I haven’t become a prolific poster, I do check my account throughout the day and will post several times a week. It’s become a regular source of information for me, be it information about my friends or information about the world.

But just as I celebrated my first Facebook anniversary, I recommitted to my Twitter account. Over the period of two or three weeks, I’ve followed scores of new people and posted perhaps five times as often as I would have in the past. I’ve learned how to use lists. I’ve boned up on Twitter etiquette. I’ve researched how best to use Twitter.  My reward?  Enough invaluable information to make my head explode.  I’ve bookmarked site after site, blogger after blogger, all based on leads I’ve found through Twitter.

And suddenly, I’ve become bored with my Facebook account.  Facebook seems too slow, too irrelevant (these are my friends I’m talking about!), too limited.  Sure, I still check Facebook daily.  But no longer am I obsessively scrolling through all of the updates. Worse yet,  I’m dodging my inbox.

This may just be a phase.  But I have a feeling the Andy Borowitz quote (presumably) making the rounds on Twitter (where else?) has nailed it:  “I worry that children raised on Twitter won’t have the attention span for Facebook.”

About Nancy Kaplan-Biegel

I am the journalism program coordinator at Skyline College in San Bruno, CA, as well as the adviser to The Skyline View.

Leave a Reply

