Has the Well Run Dry?

One of the things we keep bringing up not only in this class, but also on the newspaper staff, is the need to write frequently for your blog. We talk about how you can’t build a following if there’s little to follow. We discuss how the posts don’t need to be long, just interesting and consistent.

And then there’s my blog.

If these students were my kids, I could default to “Don’t do as I do; do as I say.” But they are not, and I can’t. So, in an effort to put not only them, but myself, back on the right track, I’ve been thinking more about what is keeping them–and me–from blogging regularly. In fact, in a moment of synchronicity, one of my students came to me with just this concern yesterday.

Turns out, what’s holding her back is that she had envisioned–and stated as a goal right on her blog–doing lots of interviews with and profiles on local artists. That takes time. A lot of time. It’s less like blogging and more like starting her own webzine.

All of which is laudable. But between her job as features editor of the school paper, her regular classes, and her work, these more footwork-intensive entries were not going to materialize.

So, what was? That’s the question I, too, had been mulling over, as I grappled with why I wasn’t blogging either. What was in order–besides a pep talk–were concrete ideas. My first idea was to blog about my own struggle with consistency.

You’re reading it.

But I doubt anyone would find that tolerable after one entry. Something interesting or useful must, therefore, follow. Turns out, many people need that extra push and many others are providing it. Here, then, are some websites to inspire your blog writing:

100 Ways to Find Ideas for Your Blog Posts

How to Find Ideas for Your Blog Posts

13 Ideas to Inspire Your Blog Content

About Nancy Kaplan-Biegel

I am the journalism program coordinator at Skyline College in San Bruno, CA, as well as the adviser to The Skyline View.

One thought on “Has the Well Run Dry?

  1. lol, I like how half of this post is about me! Thank you for posting those links. I liked what the last link said about inviting guest authors and “tooting your own horn,” all practical ideas that I think I will use. Keep up the posts Nancy- I’m watching!

Leave a Reply

